Diversify Your Macro Portfolio – Part 3 – Dreamlike Look

Posted: June 23, 2015 in Uncategorized
I wrote an article for Outdoor Photographer magazine few years ago called “Diversify Your Macro Portfolio”. It talked about varying the different styles that are available in macro. Over six days I explore those various styles, and today is part three, Dreamlike Look.
When I’m in the mood to shoot some soft-focus dreamlike images, I usually work with flowers. Most photographers can easily find flowers to photograph in their backyards, or if you like wildflowers, head to a local forest or field. I always shoot this style with a wide-open aperture in the ƒ/2.8 to ƒ/3.5 range. Just move the camera in close, focus on the front edge of the foreground of the subject and let the rest soften into the background.

Dandelion head, shot with a 180mm macro at ƒ/2.8

Fall Sumac Leaves, Tamron 60mm f/2.0

Shoot wide open and have fun with these soft focus Dreamlike images.

________________________________________________________________

 

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Photo Conference 2015 click here
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page

Leave a comment