Fun With Dandelions

Posted: May 9, 2015 in Uncategorized
It’s that time of year when the fields are full of white puffy dandelions. They are just weeds but you can create art with them. People spend money on weed killers on their lawns to keep these little guys out.
This image I set up with my LED light behind backlighting the dandelion right inside my home. I always thought that I would never use the Burnt Sienna filter in Nik’s Color Efex Pro program, but here it is on this image.

___________________________________________________________________

With this image I went back and forth processing with Color Efex Pro and Viveza 2. I used the Low Key filter in Color Efex, and played with darkening and high lighting different parts of the image.

___________________________________________________________________

Here’s another image with the LED light used as side lighting, which created a nice moody light.

______________________________________________________________________

79402871.S81XFOtL.DSCF7629
This one was shot in the early morning with the low angled sun hitting it from behind.

___________________________________________________________

154549829.jfyyd7oQ

I added a texture background to this one.

____________________________________________________

139174416.Z83tcpCG._DSC3976

All the seeds have blown away.
So get out and have fun with dandelions.
Learn all about creating great images and how to process them in my new workshop.  “Learn To Create Macro Images That Don’t Suck”. More info and to sign up go to.  http://www.macrostoreonline.com

_________________________________________________________________________

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Photo Conference 2015 click here
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page

If you like this post share it below through your social media groups.

Comments
  1. Winfred Knapp says:

    Nice work Mike! Great use of NIK filters.

    Wyn…

    iphone: 858/945-6636 email: wynknapp@me.com

    Wyn Knapp, Photographer 1401 East Washington Street Bloomington IL 61701

    >

Leave a comment