Diversify Your Macro Portfolio – Part 1 – Abstracts

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

I wrote an article that was published two years ago in Outdoor Photographer magazine called “Diversify Your Macro Portfolio”. It talked about varying the different styles that are available in macro. Over the next six days I explore those various styles, and today is part one, Abstracts.

Macro abstracts are the most challenging and fun to shoot. When I’m in the field my eyes are always scanning for unusual subjects composed of lines, shapes, patterns, colors, and interesting designs. Some macro photographers shoot soft focus images and call them abstracts, but I want an abstract where the viewer has to put some thought into what they are looking at. I want to maximize my depth of field to bring it all in focus, so I set my f/stop in the highest ranges.

DEW ON MUSHROOM

POND ICE

BRISTLE CONE PINE TREE TRUNK


Read The OP Article Here

____________________________________________________________________

Sign Up For My Newsletters
Books

Macro Boot Camps

Macro Nature Forum

Recorded How-To Programs

Friend me on Facebook


Comments
  1. Isoterica says:

    Gorgeous textures. I took a lot of these, ironically without a macro lens because bringing one on vacation means nothing to identify you were even there, just zooming in with the lenses I had. I am compulsive, I just have to get close. Tree trunks, sand, all of it 🙂

Leave a comment