Not A Wall Hanger Series

Posted: August 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have a lot of images that I think are interesting but they don’t seem to be images that people will buy to hang on their walls. , so this series is for those images. The images in this series have all been through my art shows and were pulled out due to the lack of selling.

This is an image I shot back in the spring of 2004 when I bought my first digital SLR, a Fuji S2.  My lens at the time was a Sigma 180 macro lens.  This image did great in contests, won image of the year at http://www.naturephotographer.net in the flora category, and was published in magazines but never sold well for people to hang on their walls.  It lasted two years in my art shows before I had to take it out and replace it with a better seller.  One of the problems is the color of green.  As I was a painting contractor prior to becoming a pro nature photographer, I know I never paint this shade of green in any home.  It’s a green that doesn’t work in many home decors, so it is a hard sell.  This happens with all of my images that have the natural greens in nature.

Sign Up For My Newsletters
Books

Macro Boot Camps

Macro Nature Forum

Webinars

Tiny Landscapes

friend me on Facebook, http://www.facebook.com/mike.moats

Comments
  1. Wayne Elliott says:

    That reminds me of the old argument…are they buying a piece of fine art photography or are they decorating their homes? Women tend to buy for decorative by and large so it’s a hard go to move fine art photographic images that don’t fit a decorating scheme.

Leave a comment