Why Would A Pro Shoot With A Consumer Grade Camera?

Posted: May 18, 2017 in Uncategorized
As a macro photographer I have always owned consumer grade cameras, and have never even shot a pro level camera from the big brand names like Canon and Nikon. Most photographers would wonder why I don’t use the pro cameras. It’s simple, I teach workshops to people that shoot with consumer grade cameras. At least 75 percent of the people in my Macro Boot Camps own consumer grade lower priced cameras. For the people that sign up for my workshops they would like to know that they can get good quality images with their camera.
I’m speaking here to the macro photographers and not saying that a consumer grade camera will work best for other types of photography, so please don’t email me explaining how you need that expensive camera for what you do, this post relates to the macro field.
My workshop participants don’t want to hear that they need to buy the pro level equipment to produce good quality images, they want to know if they can get great images using their cameras. By me showing that I make a living shooting with consumer grade cameras, it gives them more confidence with their cameras. If they see my articles and images in Outdoor Photographer, or other magazines, they can say hey, his camera isn’t any better than mine, and he’s in a magazine.
The fact is that consumer grade cameras for macro photography will produce images that can be considered pro level quality, as I have done it. So people in my workshops can have the confidence to know that with some practice and knowledge they to can capture great images without emptying their bank account.

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Dianna says:

    Mike, I am a painter and want to take more professional reference photos for my art. What camera do you recommend? I am a complete novice. I liked your post about consumer grade cameras. That is my budget range. I also want to buy a camera that could photograph my art work.
    Is it possible to shoot both my art and macro photography with one camera? Can I buy lenses to accomplish the different tasks? Any recommendations? ( I plan to attend your workshops when I have the equipment.) Thank you for your post. Your thoughts about my questions and recommendations are appreciated.

    • Mike Moats says:

      What ever camera you buy will take care of photography you art and your macro. I would recommend the Nikon D7200, which probably runs around a $1000, but any camera even under a $1,000 in the right hands will produce good images. Go with the Tamron lenses as they are excellent and the less expensive then Nikon or Canon lenses. I use the tamron 16-300 which has some macro capabilities, and for my true macro lens, it’s that Tamron 90mm macro lens. Each of those two lenses will run about $649.

      • Dianna says:

        Thank you so much Mike. Your replies are very helpful. Any suggestions for a flash?

        I will continue to read your posts and look forward to your workshop when I get my gear.

      • Mike Moats says:

        Diann, I never use a flash, just natural lighting. But I do use a 12 inch diffuser and reflector to control light.

  2. Roger says:

    I have to agree with Mike on his recommendations. The Nikon D7200 is a great camera that could be the last camera you will ever need.

    After using only Nikkor lenses for years I bought some Tamron lenses after getting some advice from Mike. I got the 180mm Macro, 16-300 zoom, and the 90mm Macro.

    These are nice lenses. Especially the 90mm Macro. They’ll probably be updating the 180mm to the “SP” level soon. And the 16-300 has brought some fun back into my photography, instead of obsessing about having the “best” lens with me I just grab the new zoom and shoot anything that catches my eye.

  3. Richard Grubola says:

    What you say is correct in the macro photography world.

Leave a Reply

