Strange Green Hairy Stuff

Posted: May 14, 2017 in Uncategorized
The moss in this image was found in a swampy wooded area, and is something I’ve only seen one time in my forty some odd years traveling through the wilderness. I was shocked to see an area of about a thirty foot circle of this florescent green color that just glowed. There were cottonwood leaves scattered all over, and the moss was starting to grow on top of the leaves. I returned to this spot the next year hoping to shoot it again, and it wasn’t there. It may take a certain type of condition for this to appear. I can’t tell you what type of moss it was, but it goes to show if you cover enough ground and spend a lot of time in the field, you to will eventually run into these interesting subjects. I wanted every part of the image in focus, so I stopped down to f/32. I positioned the main part of the leaf in the upper thirds and the stem on a diagonal.

49261497

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. chrispayant says:

    Beautiful image. I love the color and texture.

  2. Richard Grubola says:

    Leave it to you to find something such as this.

  3. Charles Bonham says:

    I’m wondering if it was Algae from a recently dried pond. Just my guess, you said it was in a swampy area.

  4. Dina Klotz says:

    Wow! I love this leaf in the flowing moss. Your TIPS are very helpful!! Thank you so much for sharing such wisdom.

    Dina Klotz

Leave a Reply

