Pretty Pictures

Posted: April 1, 2017 in Uncategorized
I sometimes like to surf the web and visit other photographers blogs and read what they have to say. Some will talk about the philosophy, deep spiritual feel, or a story in their photography. I have to confess that I don’t have anything to say with my photography other than they are just pretty pictures. I feel good when I view my images, but they are just pretty picture with no deep thoughts or special meaning behind the image. It’s like when you see a painting with some wild strokes of colors, strange designs, or a small red dot on a large white canvas, and the artist says there is a meaning in the painting, but darned if I can ever figure it out.
I guess I’m not a deep enough thinker for that type of art. I do like to create abstracts with my macro, but none of it has any meaning other then it just looks cool. When I tried to sell my abstracts at the art shows, it failed miserably. I took all the abstracts out of my booth after the first year because everyone bought the pretty pictures of something simple that they could recognize and connect with.

161357691.4Fqn9Sji._DSC1623_pe_edited1

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. jmlecocq says:

    Not just a pretty picture, Mike. Beautiful.

    > >

  2. You sum up how I feel about my own photographs Mike! I have a photo Blog too and I must confess that many of my visitors/followers (NB:I haven’t that many!) seem more interested in writing than displaying their images – often philosophising or writing ‘meaningful’ poems etc and I find them all a bit pretentious. Then again – sometimes I wonder why a lot follow me whose interests definitely lie elsewhere and certainly not in photography! I feel guilty about not ‘following’ them back as it seems rather rude and I don’t want to be unfriendly. Anyway, like yourself Mike – I just like making pictures and sharing the beauty of flowers etc. That doesn’t mean it doesn’t involve challenges and stretching the imagination and you certainly give lovely ideas, suggestions and guidance to those of us who aren’t able to join your workshops.

  3. Evelyn Deutsch says:

    LOL! No real meaning behind my photos either. I just like them.

  4. Richard Grubola says:

    Why not still shoot abstracts and use them as backgrounds behind other images?

    Also, I find that a lot of people like seeing a recognizable image that also looks like abstract art at the same time. A foot in both worlds.

  5. Tom Trabue says:

    Pretty picture indeed! 🍁

Leave a Reply

