My First Image Posted on the Internet

Posted: March 19, 2017 in Uncategorized
In October of 2004 I discovered “naturephotographers.net” on the web. I was so excited that there was this place for nature photographers to post images and have people give help with critiques.
I built up the courage to post my first image, and I thought that I was doing pretty good stuff at the time, and that the people on the site were going to be really impressed with my skills.
I thought my first images was perfect, but found out the error of my ways after posting on NPN. One of the mistakes that I see all the time is the same mistake that I made with many of my images. By posting on this site, the more experienced photographers had helped me to become a better macro photographer.
A common mistake is to allow the edge of a subject to touch the edge of the frame and not allow spacing. Here is that first image I posted and in the upper right, the tips of the flower are touching the edge of the frame and cropped to tight. You don’t have to leave a lot of space, but you need to have some breathing room. Many of the images that I had planned to post on this site never got posted as they also had this same problem, but I learned and never cropped to tight again.
It’s okay to have a portion of a subject leaving the frame, just make sure there is enough of the subject leaving to show that you intended the subject to leave the frame, rather than just have the tips of the subject touching the edge of the frame, showing you just cropped the subject to tight.

________________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Theresa Lapels says:

    I just finished some practice work and thought I had done well. And even though I was in tight several do not have the breathing room you talk about. I’ll take a “re-do”!! Thanks for the tip.

    Theresa Kapella

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. chrispayant says:

    I made this mistake too and I see many photos with tips cut off. Thanks for sharing and helping us learn. I love your blogs and tips Mike. Thanks so much for all that you share with the macro photography community. You really make a difference!

  3. Roxana Whitt says:

    Good reminder. Thanks. Is the Nature Photographer Network still thriving? Thanks.

  4. Tom Trabue says:

    Thanks Mike for sharing, I did not know about naturephotographers.net and plan to research it. 📸

Leave a Reply

