Shooting Backgrounds

Posted: February 17, 2017 in Uncategorized

During the winter when shooting is slow outdoors due to the lack of any life or color, I like to shoot backgrounds for later use. I find tree trunks with interesting bark to shoot, and also I have used my ice abstract as background for a main subject.
Here I am lining up a shot of a Birch tree trunk.

_________________________________________________________________

Here are a couple of my trunk shots, that I will use later at home shooting indoors.

________________________________________________________________

I will make a print on a matte photo paper of these backgrounds and lay one on the floor and add on a main subject like a butterfly mount or a leaf, or whatever I come up with. Here is one of my ice abstracts with a butterfly mount. I know butterflies and ice don’t mix, but hey I’m just creating some unusual art here. I position the camera right over top with the front of the lens parallel with the print on the floor. I will shoot in the f/8 range as there is a little depth with the subject on top of the print.

_________________________________________________________________

Here is the same background but with a different butterfly, and I used the Nik Software’s Bi-Color User Defined for the split colors. This surprisingly has been a good seller at the art shows, mainly selling to younger people.

_________________________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Jennifer Benton says:

    Great idea. This was very helpful. Thank you.

  2. Jeri Mearns says:

    Love your creativity, as always. This is such a great idea – I’ll get right to it this afternoon! Thanks, Jeri

Leave a Reply

