My Vanguard Tripod

Posted: February 10, 2017 in Uncategorized
As a macro photographer I need a tripod that has the ability to maneuver my camera into all kinds of angles, and also be able to get my camera right down on the ground if I need.  The Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT is the perfect tripod for accomplishing this task.
This tripod has great stability and flexibility, enabling more angle possibilities than ever before. Its innovative Multi-Angle Central Column (MACC) System allows users to move the central column from zero to 180-degree angles in variable vertical and horizontal positions making macro-photography and special wide-angle shots a breeze.
The Instant Swivel Stop-n-Lock (ISSL) System securely repositions the central column in one simple movement, in just a few seconds, while maintaining the tripod’s stability. Other features include advanced camera vibration and shock control, legs that adjust to 25, 50 and 80-degree angles. Non-slip, spiked rubber feet for changing terrains and a removable hook for hanging camera accessories. Alta Pro 263AT is aluminum alloy and has quick-flip leg locks.
The next best thing about this tripod is it’s price, it’s very affordable at only $149. Tripod only, heads are sold separately.
Check it out here. https://www.huntsphotoandvideo.com/detail_page.cfm?productid=263AT&mfg=Vanguard&show=yes

IMG_0074

____________________________________________

IMG_0070

_______________________________________

IMG_0619 (2)

________________________________________________

tn

__________________________________________________

IMG_0416

_________________________________________________

_1010561

______________________________________________

IMG_0827 copy

____________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. I have this tripod and use the horizontal feature when shooting real estate work and need to hang the camera over a railing in a loft etc. I bought because Mike touted it the Can-Am photo exhibit in Buffalo a few years ago.

  2. Don Siegrist says:

    Good morning Mike,

    I have a Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT that I purchased from you at your workshop in St. Augustine a few years ago and I would like to pass along a couple of thoughts.

    I used it down by the beach taking close-ups of rocks and shells. I was concerned about the salt water interacting with the metal legs so I got some umbrella plastic rain bags and covered the legs. However water still got in somehow so I took the tripod home and washed it and dried it. Well apparently I didn’t do a good enough job because it wasn’t long before one of the legs would not move. I called Vanguard and they told me to send it it. It took about 10 days but they fixed it without charge. Needless to say I was very happy with that.

    However I now am having a problems with the legs moving very loosely. I tried everything I could to see how I could tighten them so I again called Vanguard to ask them how to tighten them. They told me that there was no way that I could tighten it and that I would have to again send it in. I was very unhappy about that.

    I like the tripod very much and they have great service. I just wish that they would make the tripod so a guy could do some of the minor maintenance on yourself. It is not an issue of money but rather the lose of the tripod for a week or so.

    Just thought you should know as it is a great little tripod but it does have a downside.

    Don Siegrist

    >

    • Mike Moats says:

      Hey Don, maybe yours has a defect, as I’ve used them for many years without any issues. I do have to make adjustments when the legs slip through the flip levers, but that is an easy adjustment to make. I have had people tell me that they have had great service from Vanguard which is not what I recently heard from a customer of Gitzo who had a problem with one of their expensive tripods and couldn’t get anyone to help him, which is sad from a company that sells over priced tripod.

Leave a Reply

