Leaves in the Lake Ice

Posted: January 20, 2017 in Uncategorized
On this day, it was a nice 35 degrees, windless, cloudy, and perfect for going to Stony Creek lake to shoot the leaves locked in the ice.
There is a small island in the lake and the area that I go to has a narrow section of ice between the main land and the island.
I was using my Nikon D7000 with the Tamron 16-300. Vangaurd tripod and Acratech ballhead.
Here is the section I’m working. There are leaves locked in the ice all through out this area.
_dsc5515_pe600
When I’m searching for leaves to shoot, I don’t want a leaf that is just lying on top like this Oak leaf. I want something a little more interesting.

_dsc5548_pe600

This Oak is a little more unique because a section of the leaf has separated and refroze, so a little more interesting than the whole leaf as in the one above.

_dsc5483_pe600

What I’m really looking for is a leaf or leaves that are interacting with the ice.  So with this leaf, we see how the leaf is frozen into the ice, and the ice has created an interesting formation around the leaf.  It has a little more character than just a leaf on top of the ice.

_dsc5497_pe600

Here is a pair of oak leaves, one partly exposed, and the other under the ice.

_dsc5532_pe600

The ice over and around this maple leaf has an interesting look.

_dsc5488_pe600

Sometimes I find a leaf in the ice with millions of tiny air bubbles, and a few larger ones.

_dsc5516_pe600

Here is a Cottonwood leaf with air bubbles.

_dsc5527_pe600

A lone Oak leaf, and a ghostly ice pattern.

_dsc5544_pe600

My little muskrat buddy that I share the ice with.

_dsc5503_pe600

So that was my fun day on the ice.

_______________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. The oak leaves with or without ice formation looks amazing and your explanation make me feel the beauty of each picture. Well done Mr. Mike 👍

Leave a Reply

