Winter “Walk About”

Posted: January 12, 2017 in Uncategorized
walk·about
noun \ˈw-kə-ˌbat\
: an occasion in which an Australian Aborigine goes on a long walking journey on land that is far from towns and cities
Walk-about is a time of reflection in solitude from community and routine, a time to detach and fortify the spirit.
Last year I had the need to “walk about” at a local park, escape from community, routine, and fortify the spirit. Of course had to do a little drive about to get around.
Yesterday I posted about using a point and shoot for macro/close-up work, so I just carried my point and shoot. My G16 has a HDR mode and used it on all the images.
The best part of visiting the parks this time of year is I basically have it all to myself. I saw no one on my travels, and that is what a walk about is all about.
I plan to do another “walk about” this winter 2017 and plan to take my DSLR.
Come along on my “walk about”.

 

IMG_0855600_edited-1

___________________________________________________

I first went to Stony Creek lake to check out the lake edges for things to shoot. Ice is just starting to form.

IMG_0849600_edited-1
_______________________________________________

One of my favorite subjects to shoot are leaves and I knew I would find some at the edge of the lake. Here is a leaf on top of the ice, and the darker leaf on the sand underneath the ice. Some specs of snow add texture.

IMG_0844600_edited-1

________________________________________________

I found this leaf lying next to some interesting patterns in the mud.

IMG_0840600_edited-1

____________________________________________

Along the lake in the mud I found a frozen foot print.

IMG_0894600

_______________________________________

While wandering by the lake I found a big Beech tree which had all kinds of stuff carved into the bark. This one must have been from the sixties, Purple Haze, a Jimi Hendrix song.

IMG_0853

_____________________________________________

Once I was done at the lake I traveled to the nature center and visited Stony Creek and some ponds. Here’s the creek the park was named after. Looks more like a river than a creek.

IMG_0861600

_________________________________________

At one of the ponds I found this birch tree that had fallen into the water and is now frozen in place.

IMG_0882600

__________________________________________

I found leaves, pine needles, and some cedar locked in the ice at the edge of the pond.

IMG_0889600

_____________________________________________

Here is a branch from another birch tree in the ice with streaks of snow.

IMG_0887600

__________________________________________________

As I headed back towards the parking lot I wandered through the woods a little.

IMG_0895600

____________________________________________

A pine tree had been blown over from high winds and part of a branch and needles rested on this tree trunk.

IMG_0901600

______________________________________________________

I found this really large oak leaf on the forest floor. It was larger then any oak leaf I’ve ever seen. The colored leaf on the left is a normal size oak leaf and the one on the right as you can see is way larger then the normal size leaf. That is one humongous oak leaf.

IMG_0931600

___________________________________________________

I looked for some interesting tree trunk patterns to shoot but wasn’t having much luck, so I did shoot a trunk and with a little help from Topaz Glow I came up with this cool abstract of the bark.

IMG_0869

______________________________________________________

When I exited the woods I past an open field on the way to the parking lot. You can see the oak tree is still clinging to it’s leaves. The oaks hold their leaves for a long time before they finally drop.

IMG_0903600

___________________________________________

In the field I found some old milkweed pods and all were empty but one. Added a little Topaz Glow.

IMG_0856_edited-1

_________________________________________________

Back to the car now and heading to another part of Stony Creek lake where I also find lots of leaves frozen in ice. Here’s the area I will be searching along.

IMG_0922600

________________________________________________

Found this half leaf along with some nice patterns from stones under the ice.

IMG_0927600

_______________________________________________

Stones underneath the ice make a nice abstract.

IMG_0923600

IMG_0926

__________________________________________

Here’s one more group of leaves in textured ice.

IMG_0909600_edited-1

________________________________________________

For my last stop I headed off to a beach where I was hoping to find some feathers from the local geese and gulls. Wonder why no one is at the beach today.

IMG_0941

______________________________________________

Not as many feathers as I had hoped for but did get this one shot of two feathers together, which is not very common.

IMG_0947600

_____________________________________________

On the way back to the van from the beach there is a playground of things that kids can climb on. This was a small area from one of the jungle gym.

IMG_0948

So that was my Walk About and hope you liked traveling with me. I wasn’t all that impressed with what I shot on this trip, and not sure if any will make it onto my website. I didn’t really care if I got any great shots or not, as I said early in the post, I was just trying to escape from community, routine, and fortify the spirit, which I happily accomplished.

__________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. jmlecocq says:

    Thank you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Jennifer Benton says:

    Thanks for sharing. My favorites are the textured leaves near the end of the post and the tree bark. When I first saw the tree bark I thought it was an elephants eye. Thanks for your posts.

  3. Sharon says:

    Thanks for sharing – several nice shots, and great inspiration for my own walk-about! The pattern from the jungle gym was a nice surprise.

Leave a Reply

