Photographing Poinsettia

Posted: December 18, 2016 in Uncategorized
With Christmas right around the corner, the florists have lots of Poinsettias.  I set one up in the basement to shoot. I was using my Nikon D7000 and a Tamron 18-270 lens.

IMG_0159600

_________________________________________________

I set the little cluster of flowers in lower right area where the right thirds and bottom thirds meets.  I used f/32 on the first image to get it all in focused.   I processed with the Oil Painting filter in Topaz’s Simplify4.

_DSC4098600

__________________________________________________

On this shot I changed the comp and used a shallow depth of field at f/2.8.  I focused on the little cluster of flowers and got lots of out of focus areas.  I like the f/32 better with more in focus.

_DSC4106600

______________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Patrice says:

    Thanks Mike, I agree with you!

Leave a Reply

