The Solitude of a Macro Photographer

Posted: December 14, 2016 in Uncategorized
When I started out in photography in 2001 I wanted to be a landscape or wildlife photographer.
It wasn’t to long before I realized landscape and wildlife photography wasn’t for me.
When I went to the national parks, there were people and photographers everywhere.
It was just to crowded.
What I love about macro photography is when I leave the paths and payment and head into the woods searching for subjects, I am all alone.
I need solitude when I’m in nature, and not all the distraction of having tons of people around.
Just me and nature.

148779419-kbasxsht-402955_101_0386_n

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. nlh835 says:

    Me too! 🙂

  2. Roxana Whitt says:

    Yes. I have more solitude at home on our farm than I’ll ever have in a National Park. There are reasons to go, but that’s not one of them for me. I don’t know how anyone can focus on their art trapped inside a throng of people.

  3. I too love the solitude, but often wish I had another macro photographer to share ideas, inspirations and the walk with me. My husband is into photography, but not macro, so it’s just not the same if he comes with me. I really only enjoy the company if the other person is into macro and would prefer only one or two others. Groups are just not my thing when I’m trying to do my thing. 🙂

    • Mike Moats says:

      Sue, yes some do like to go out with another photographers to shoot, and as far as women goes, unfortunately you would not be as safe alone in the woods as a male due to the creeps that are out there. For me I do way better on my own than with another photographer along. I tend to do more talking than shooting when out with another photographer.

  4. john4jack says:

    Right on, Mike!!

  5. You need a copy editor!

  6. I didn’t realize it until I read this blog, but this is why I love macro photography. I’m a painter that is learning photography. So, I’m used to solitude when I create. So macro is perfect for me.

  7. For sure in my case the deepest connection with nature and the subjects I photograph happens when I’m all by myself. Though sharing with others our passion is great also!

Leave a Reply

