Who do you create your art for?

Posted: November 16, 2016 in Uncategorized
I think it was Sammy Davis Jr, who sang a song called, “I Gotta Be Me” and when I create my art it has to be me. Doesn’t matter what type or form of artist you are, it has to be you.
Just because you create art that is you, and you like it, doesn’t mean everyone else will like it.
With any artists there are critics who will not care for the subject matter, style, or look of what an artist creates.
That’s gonna happen so we have to know and understand that part of exposing our art to the world.
Lets say we are doing our thing and people are not accepting what we create, do we keep going forward and say I don’t care if people don’t like my art, or do we change what we do to be accepted.
I guess it depends on what you are trying to accomplish. If you are running a photography business then you have to somewhat cater to your customers and sell them what they want.
But if you are just having fun and your photography is a hobby, than maybe you don’t really care what anyone thinks of your art.
I think most artist want their work to be accepted and appreciated, that is part of why we share our art, and some just share it for fun and do not worried if they get pats on the back, or tons of “likes” on facebook, Google+, Flickr, 500px, or what ever social media you use to share your art.
I’ve been fortunate that most people like what I create with my macro photography. So I’ve continued on doing what I do.
But if what I created wasn’t getting good reactions or positive responses, I would have to examine what I was doing that people didn’t like about my art.
If my art was not being accepted, is it because of the subject matter, the way I composed it, the processing techniques. I would want to know what it is that is not working.
Many people that don’t receive those good responses for their art will study from other artists that have had success and try and emulate what that artist has done, or take workshops to learn better techniques.
We do this to help make ourselves better at our craft so our images are accepted by the other photographers.
But if we are just copying other artist because they are successful, we may be producing nice images, but we are not really creating our own art, we are more like painting by numbers.
Your work will never be original if you copy other artists styles that have already been created.
We all copy other artists work to some degree. But at some point you need to work to find your own direction and hopefully find your own style that is accepted.
So it’s easy to say that your art has to be you, but what if what you create is not accepted by the community, how do you feel about that, and do you keep going on, or just give up and move on to some other hobby.
If you say I don’t care what people think of my art, then don’t show anyone your art if you don’t care. I think everyone cares what people think, it’s natural for an artist to want people to like what they produce. That’s why we share our art, because we what people to appreciate what we have created.
Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Patrice says:

    Thanks Mike, good article!

  2. Ravynword says:

    This post really struck home to me. I am a failed entry in photography contests and I see others get recognized for the photography while my photography is basically ignored. I keep going because I believe in my vision. I am a visual storyteller that likes to expose the viewer to different perspectives. Photography has saved my life from the bipolar mood disorder that permeates my life. I am one of your students in the Flower Macrophotography class and your thoughtful critiques means the world to me. So, I create art for myself and realize that my art, my hobby, my survival tool may not make me any income. Thank you for writing this!

Leave a Reply

