Minimalist Flower Photography

Posted: October 14, 2016 in Uncategorized
Most flower images you typically see all or most of the flower in focus.  Here is the minimalist version of flower photography.  Only one tiny edge of this flower’s petal is in full focus with a faded second petal, and the rest blurred completely into soft colors.  I posted this on my facebook page and someone asked if this was done with a Lensbaby,  You don’t need a Lensbaby to do this kind of shot.  Just get your true macro lens into the minimum focusing distance (the 1:1 range) and set your f/stop number at the smallest number, and you will get only a tiny bit in focus.  Find a tip of a petal on a flower that is the closest to the front of your lens and you will end up with this.

_dsc5124_pe600

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. It’s fantastic to see this photo. I’m very new to photography. I just use my iPhone and an Olloclip magnifying lens. But this summer, I started working with the 21x lens and doing what you’re talking about here. It absolutely fascinates me. I’m an abstract artist looking to find a way to mix my art and photography. Thanks for this blog!

Leave a Reply

