Fun With Cut Glass

Posted: October 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

I was grabbing a glass out of the cupboard for a drink of water and noticed the nice design of the cut glass, which I never really paid any attention to before.. It’s just a cheap juice glass that can be bought at any discount store.

So I thought maybe I can experiment and create some nice art from this glass. I decided I needed to add some lighting to help make the cuts in the glass look more interesting, so I place my LED light underneath the glass, and some stray colors from around the glass reflected in the angles of the cuts. I shot first with the glass upside down.

Here is the first shot that I liked angling the camera to the side and bottom of the glass. I used the Detail Extractor in Nik Software’s Color Efex Pro 4 for the look and feel of the image.

I turned the glass right side up and shot straight down into the bottom of the glass and came up with this interesting pattern. I’m going to explore more designs of cut glass as you can find this in many flower vases, and other glassware.

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Sirfishalot says:

    Very cool idea and image Mike, thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

