Glass, RainX, Flower, Water, and Shoot

Posted: October 7, 2016 in Uncategorized
This is a trick that I’ve seen done before, but finally got around to giving it a try myself.
Get a piece of glass and apply some rainX . RainX is found in the automotive section and it is used on your car windshield to cause the rain to bead up and easily run off. The rainX will help the water to bead up on your glass. Spray it on and wipe off.
I don’t like to take a lot of time making elaborate set-ups so I just find what every is lying around the house that will work, so nothing sophisticated. In the garage I found a cart from my art show days just waiting to be used for this project.

I placed the glass on top of the cart, and used a spray bottle filled with water to create the bubbles.
Underneath, I placed a green print that I made, but you can use any material that has a nice solid color.
I needed my Gerbera flower to be somewhat close to the glass, so propped it up with a coke can that was in the garage. The flower was large enough to hide the coke can underneath.
Positioned the camera overhead and tried to get the front of the lens as parallel as I could to the glass. Moved the camera in close enough to fill the frame with the Gerbera flower.

I experimented shooting at different f/stops for depth of field, and wanted to show a little details in flower below.
I placed my focus on the flowers within the waterdrops and the f/22 seemed to give me the amount of focus I needed to get the waterdrops in focus and reach down and give the image a little focus on the flower.
I just used the natural light that was in the garage.
That’s it, and then go into Nik Software’s Color Efex Pro 4 and Viveza 2 and do some processing.

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. jmlecocq says:

    Mike,

    You’re the best. Thanks for the tip!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Nicolaas Strik says:

    That is so cool! I will have to try it.

  3. Patrice says:

    This is awesome Mike! I’ll have to give it a try, thanks for the tip!

  4. I hadn’t thought of using on of my carts to prop the glass! I had been trying to use a pyrex 9×12 baking dish (not very successfully). Will have to try this one – need to find a flat piece of glass. BTW, I notice the clamp on the right of your camera. Was that holding anything?

  5. Bob Crocker says:

    This is a cool set-up; thanks Mike !

Leave a Reply

