Tiny Leaf and Hosta

Posted: October 5, 2016 in Uncategorized
The weather has been cooling down now that fall is here, so that means I’ll be out shooting more.  I visited one of my local park and stopped in to the nature center.  The outside area of the building has lots of hostas, so when I’m there I always check them out to see if there are any interesting shots.
In this group of leaves I found this little yellow leaf that had fell from above and perfectly positioned itself on this hosta leaf.

_dsc4728_pe600

I set up my tripod, used my 90mm Tamron lens and set my f/stop to f/22.  I angled the center vein of the hosta leaf on and angle and positioned the little yellow leaf in the upper left. There were soft highlights from the sun which created some shadows in the furrows of the hosta leaf.  Did some post processing in Smart Photo Editor and wa-la.

_dsc4727done600

This same thing happened to me years ago when I was out wandering through a swampy area.  A little spring Maple leaf had fallen on a large skunk cabbage leaf, and created a great contrast in color.  This image has won many awards for me and been published many times in articles I’ve written for photo mags.
Sometimes simple subjects makes great images.

157743716-a5djnptp-47062303-springmaple_pe

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Patrice says:

    Thanks Mike, your tips are invaluable!

  2. maeflower50 says:

    Love the light. Hostas are one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

