Post Processing Decisions

Posted: September 20, 2016 in Uncategorized
We had some high winds blow through our area, and I always know when I enter into the woods I will find groups of leaves lying on the forest floor. And sometimes I find some interesting compositions of leaves.
Here is a small group of Sycamore leaves I found on the leaf litter. Near the center of the group you will see three leaves that are contrasting in colors. That’s a nice comp that I will frame up.

_DSC5898_edited-1

__________________________________________________________

Here is the shot out of the camera. Not all that exciting right out of the camera, but I know it’s going to get better with some processing. We see subjects like this and visualize how it’s going to look after we apply some post processing. What drew me was the slight variation in the colors of these three leaves creating contrast.

_DSC5897_edited-1

_______________________________________________________________

I first ran the image through Topaz’s Simplify4 and chose the BuzSim Toned 4 filter which pulled out some of the details, and gave the outside area a white vignette.

leaves

_______________________________________________________

I cloned out some of the brown spots on the leaves in Photoshop Elements. Then I decided to see how this image would look as a black and white. So I brought the image into Nik Software’s Silver Efex Pro2 and chose one of the filters and I think I like this image best as a black and white. Hope you like it.

black and white_edited-1

___________________________________________________________________

There are some many ways to go with an image like this in post processing, and that’s part of the fun of digital photography, playing with the post processing to see what we can come up with to make an image better.

_________________________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Dan Beaudet says:

    Perfect example that I shared with my wife enabling her to get a better sense of all the shenanigans I do sometimes to get a final result. Also a terrific example illustrating the image within the image concept that you’ve spoken about in previous posts. Very cool result.

  2. Douglas Berg says:

    This is a tough one Mike. I like them both. However, if I were doing the post processing, I may have come up with something totally different and have just as much visual impact. I guess there is “No right answer” when it comes to post processing.

Leave a Reply

