Waiting for a Better Background

Posted: August 28, 2016 in Uncategorized
If you like chasing dragonflies in the fields, it takes a lot of patience to find the subject on the right perch with a nice clean background. Sometimes a dragonfly will like a certain perch and keep coming back to land there. If you find that special perch,  you can set up your tripod and camera and wait for it to return.
I was using the Tamron 18-270 lens. With the lens set in the 270mm range, it allowed me more working distance between me and the subject so the dragonfly wasn’t spooked as easily. I set my f/stop at f/5.6 to help blur out the background.
On this overcast day I followed this little guy around the field waiting for it to land on a perch that would allow me a camera angle with the least distracting background so the dragonfly would standout.
This was the first perch I found the subject on. The background was a bit close to the subject causing my image to look cluttered. So I will follow it until I have a better background.

___________________________________________________________

So it moves to another plant, but this time I have a seedheads and stems in the frame, so not good.

________________________________________________________________

I keep following and finally it gives me something to work with. Now with the clutter a good distance away from the subject, I can get the nice solid blurred background and nothing competing for attention except my D-fly.

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Jeri Mearns says:

    Great shot and great advice. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

