Flower Photography

Posted: August 25, 2016 in Uncategorized
If you own a Tamron 150-600, you are mainly using this lens for birds and wildlife photography.  So I picked up this lens to see if it could also work for my flower photography.  It actually shoots a pretty small area, and does a great job at blurring the backgrounds.  The working distance is about 8 feet from the subject when you’re near the minimum focusing distance, which is going to be great for dragonflies, butterflies, frogs, turtles, and other live subjects that take off as we get close to shoot.  So next time your out shooting the birds and wildlife, take some time to look around you for some flowers or bugs to shoot.

_DSC4576_pe600

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Hubert Steve Cole says:

    Nice … Really Nice.
    Camera settings? Natural lighting?
    Did you use your standard tripod setup?

  2. rose ramirez says:

    i have the lens. need to play with it more. the photo you post looks like a studio shot, which would be interesting for such a lens. do you ever use a blind for shooting? always love your posts.

  3. I have lens envy again! I love my 100 macro L series. I rarely take it off my camera, but I like to shoot what I see in the wild and sometimes the macro just isn’t the right lens, I always turn to small things though. I like to shoot the parts of nature that we tend to miss because they are tiny. I think the Tameron would be so much more versatile for the things I like to shoot and I wouldn’t have to change lenses as often. One day I will have one!! 🙂

  4. Thank You so much for this. I have this lens and never thought to try it in this way. Now I can’t wait to take it out.

  5. Melissa Mitchell says:

    I took your advice and used my Tamron 150-600mm lens this morning to take some macro photos. Wow, what great photos. I need to crop the heck out of many of them because it was leafy area, but the single flowers are beautiful.

  6. Kathy Kauth says:

    Attending a Tamron workshop and would like to try this out. Do you recommend? I’m an all around shooter, mostly close-up but sometimes want more reach than my 17-200. What do you mostly use it for?

    • Mike Moats says:

      Kathy, I would go with the 16-300, excellent lens for all around photography. This 150-600 is a beast to carry, so not good for all around photography, more of a specialized lens for subjects where you need to reach out a distance to capture, like wildlife, birds, small critters that we can’t get close to because they scare away easy if we get to close.

Leave a Reply

