The Dog Days Of Summer

Posted: August 5, 2016 in Uncategorized
The Dog Days of Summer
1. the sultry part of the summer, supposed to occur during the period that Sirius, the Dog Star, rises at the same time as the sun: now often reckoned from July 3 to August 11.
2. a period marked by lethargy, inactivity, or indolence.
Right now we are in the dog days of summer.  As the thesaurus states, it’s the sultry time of summer, and we are getting those 90 degree high humidity days here in Southeast Michigan so it’s to hot and sultry outside.
It also states it’s a period marked by lethargy and inactivity, and that’s what happens to my shooting during this time.
I’ll just have to wait until the dog days are over before I go out again.
How about you, bothered by the dog days of summer, or are you tough enough to go out?
The heat is even cracking the earth.

Cracked Mud

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

 

Comments
  1. Martin says:

    Hi Mike,

    My tolerance for the hot, humid weather is very low. I grew up in the far north and did not experience temps much above the mid-70s and never any humidity …. after 45 years in southern Ontario you would think that some climatization would have occurred, but no such luck …. in fact I seem to get less tolerant with each passing year 😦

    My real reason for this post is to thank you for your daily posts. I look forward to reading them and have seen my photography improve from the wisdom you share. Thank you!

    Martin,
    in Toronto, Canada

    • Mike Moats says:

      Thanks Martin, glad to have helped you become a better photographer. I’ve lived in the southeast michigan all my life and still not use to this hot weather. Luckily we are not like florida or the southern states that have to deal with this for a longer time period.

  2. Terry Olsen says:

    Hi Mike,
    I’m a regular reader and I wanted to weigh in on the subject of summer photography. I live in Arkansas where we have hot and humid weather 24/7 from early June to late September (it seems that way, anyhow). Summer is the least productive time for me photographically. Maybe a few early mornings, but that’s about it. Bring on fall!

    Thanks for your blog. I really enjoy your thoughts and words of wisdom.

    Terry
    Fort Smith, Arkansas

Leave a Reply

