Soft Focus Flower Photography

Posted: August 4, 2016 in Uncategorized
Sometimes I’m in the mood to produce some soft focus flower images. Some of my favorite flower photos are done with a soft focus. Unfortunately they were not good sellers when I was in the art show business. Most buyers didn’t understand why the image was not all in focus, and it hurt sales. Even my art consultants that purchased images for the health art industry have never bought any of my soft focus flowers, they tend to buy the everything in focus images.
I still like to shoot them for my viewing and also to show all my photog friends who understand shallow depth of field and the artistic merit of these images.
Easy to do, just move the camera in really close, focus on someplace in the foreground, and shoot at the smallest number f/stop. The shallow depth of field will give this soft look to most of the subject behind the point of focus. Works best when shooting into the side of the flower rather then the front side.

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. Earle Mason says:

    Love these images, Mike! I have not thought to try to this, will do so soon.

  2. I love soft focus flowers it suits the genre so much and they are the images that move me most emotionally rather than thinking ‘what a clever shot’. As for sales etc – Methinks it’s a matter of fashion and I think soft images are becoming more popular for Wall Art. Your pics are really beautiful.

  3. ddrobney says:

    They are beautiful, Mike – lovely colors on all! I love soft focus on flowers, too, and have great fun doing these with my Lensbaby Velvet. Sometimes I just take my 50 1.4 out to play, too.

  4. Love, love, love! Reminds me of the one you did with the California Poppy (stunning!). Thanks for sharing these works.

  5. I’ll add this to my list of ways to explore macro/close up photography. Thanks for the introduction.

  6. Jane Lurie says:

    Interesting that they aren’t good sellers…maybe too creative.😉 I think they are gorgeous, Mike.

  7. Mike: I thought you’d enjoy this quote: “Sharpness is a bourgeois concept” ~ Henri Cartier-Bresson

Leave a Reply

