Give Yourself Options When Photographing a Subject

Posted: July 25, 2016 in Uncategorized
In my Macro Workshops I teach about “giving yourself options”.
Whenever I would find a subject to shoot, I would study it, decide which way was best to compose the subject in the frame, and than shoot it.
One day I was processing an image, and I wasn’t happy with the way I had composed the subject, and now had a different vision on how I wished I would have composed it.
The problem is it’s to late now, I couldn’t get back out there to re-shoot the subject that day, and by the time I could get back out in a few days, or a week later, the subject may have changed, or it could have been erased by the environment.
I realized that I needed to take the time to compose subjects in a variety of ways to give myself options, and I’ll decide later when processing the image, which composition worked the best.
So give yourself options, and shoot many different compositions of a subject.
Here is a good example of a subject that I couldn’t decide which way to angle and compose the dark center line of the plant, so I framed it in six different options, and I will decide later which way was best.
Want to know which one I liked best.
I still haven’t decided, but at least I have options. 🙂

_DSC2280 600

_DSC2283 600

_DSC2281 600

_DSC2282 600

_DSC2284 600

_DSC2285 600

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Leave a Reply

