To Arrange, Or Not To Arrange – That Is The Question

Posted: March 21, 2016 in Uncategorized
In one of my Macro Boot Camps, a lady asked if I found that people were opposed to the fact that I arrange many of my subjects for photographing. I would have to say that there are always the purists who think that we should photograph  nature as it is naturally created, and then there are the others who agree with what I do. As for the non photographers they have nothing against what I do, if there is anyone who is opposed to it, it would usually be a photographer, who has certain photographic standards they live by.
If I was a journalist or a documentary photographer, then no I would only shoot my subjects as is, without any changes. But I consider myself first an artist and second a photographer. I search out the art that is naturally created my mother nature, but then I also take what subjects mother nature offers, and combine them to create my own artwork, the same as a painter would create a still life to paint.
The camera is just the tool I use to record the art. I can’t paint these things, so I use the camera as my paint brush and canvas.
Here are various colored aspen leaves that I arranged and added the water drops.

Here I added the feather to and interesting pattern in a tree stump.

________________________________________________________________

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Macro Blog Links, Tips, Tricks, and Techniques http://www.macrostoreonline.com
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Comments
  1. I quite agree Mike – super mages, Eileen

  2. I think of photography as an art. You create a photograph. Beautiful images can be as nature lays it out as well as how the photographer lays it out. I just see more personal creativity when a photographer puts his/her twist on things. However, I see just as much beauty in an image that I like that was taken the way nature laid it out. I think you have amazing creativity and that’s one reason I love your images.

  3. Dennis says:

    Well said! Creativity is in the mind. Camera & post processing are only tools.

Leave a Reply

