Telling stories with your photos

Posted: February 20, 2016 in Uncategorized
Many times I read photographers that talk about telling a story with an image. I do get that concept and think it’s a good idea, but it is not something that I ever think about when I’m lining up a subject to shoot.
Maybe in macro there are not as many stories to tell in our images.
When I view all my images I don’t see very many stories.
Maybe with other styles of photography it’s easier to find and tell a story within the image.
I wonder when you have an image that tells a story, how many people are really able to see a story or are even looking for a story in the image.
I think photographers tend to look for a story because they have been taught that concept, but I wonder how many non photographers are able to see the story or even look for one.
I guess I really don’t worry about trying to tell a story with my photos, I just hope that the people viewing them find the subject matter and the composition appealing.

151097115.2QxeXg4a.Sketch

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Macro Blog Links, Tips, Tricks, and Techniques http://www.macrostoreonline.com
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

 

Comments
  1. Once again, I agree with you Mike. The ‘telling a story’ idea may have come about through a sort of insecurity about straightforward compositions etc being a bit boring to the viewers. I guess it’s looked on as a way of relieving that. But, as you say – a story isn’t always there, so we have to make our images count in other ways, Eileen

  2. gkohn says:

    Mike, I agree that a single macro shot is hard to get a story out of, but that may not be the case if it is part of a series of photos: for example, you may have an environmental shot, then zoom in closer for details.

  3. gary.s.rosin@gmail.com says:

    Some poets write what is called ekphrastic poetry, that responds to art. One of the most famous ekphrastic poems is “Ode on a Grecian Urn,” by John Keats. There is even a literary journal that publishes such poetry,”Ekphrasis.”

Leave a Reply

