Have Some Fun on the Beach

Posted: January 12, 2016 in Uncategorized
I’m heading down to Florida in a week and a half and maybe I can get a chance to do this trick again.
I can’t take credit for this idea as I got it from my photog friend Ken Robb. Ken had a great shot of a starfish that he bought at a shell shop and then took it down to the beach and photographed it as the water rushed over it. So when I was in St Augustine, Florida, I bought lots of shells from the local shell shops and took this starfish down to the beach to shoot this image of the water as it flowed over the starfish. Set my f/stop to f/32 to slow down the shutter speed and give the water a little softness. Not as nice as the shot Ken made, but not bad.

____________________________________

143018535.x6Ts1Fyu._DSC5696500

Website click here
Macro Workshops click here
”Macro Online Course click here
”Creating Art With Macro E-Book click here
Macro Photo Conference click here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

 

Comments
  1. billbarberphoto says:

    Mike, a lot of us that live on the beach have these. A couple of my friends have taken a short wood dowel and glued it to the bottom of the starfish. When placed on the beach, the dowel goes into the sand thus preventing the starfish from getting washed away (and you from doing acrobatics trying to stop it).

    • Mike Moats says:

      Yes that is a problem that I had, and if I did it again I would add something underneath to stabilize as you point out.

Leave a Reply

