A Lemon, Glass, and Some Sparkling Water

Posted: October 4, 2015 in Uncategorized
This is a trick that I’ve seen before but forgot about it until one of my photo friends mentioned about Byran Peterson’s video on how to do this. I thought well I need to give it a try and see what happens.
I went to my local Meijer store and bought a bottle of sparkling water, and lemon and a glass.

I sliced the lemon to about a quarter inch think, and wedged down into the glass and then poured in some sparkling water. The sparkling water makes tons of bubbles when you pour it in the glass, and they stick to the lemon. You will have to many bubbles when you first pour it in, but they will start to disappear if you wait awhile. The front of the glass will also accumulate some bubble so I just took a knife and scraped them of the glass.

Set up my tripod and camera using my 90mm Tamron, and placed one of my printed backgrounds behind, and set the f/stop at f/22 and pressed the shutter.

I shot different versions and sections of the lemon, but this one was my fav. The unique look of the water drops comes from processing with the Detail Extractor filter in Nik Software’s, Color Efex Pro 4.

You can try other fruits as well. I tried a strawberry but wasn’t happy with the results, but I’ll try again another day.

__________________________________________________________________________________

If you like this post share it below through your social media groups.
Website, Workshops and E-Books
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To see my processing videos click here
To save 15% on Topaz products click here

Comments
  1. I’ve never tried this, but I’ll definitely add it to my still life ‘ to do ‘ list. Thank you so much, Eileen

Leave a Reply

