Oyster Flower Seed Head

Posted: September 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Shot this at the Mueller State Park in Colorado, and the locals here say this is a seed head from an Oyster flower, and in my neck of the woods in Michigan we call it a Goatsbeard plant. Whatever you call it, the seed head looks like a giant white puff ball resembling the seed head of the dandelion flower. I like to shoot these in a soft abstract manner. I move the camera in close filling the frame with the subject, then set the aperture on my Tamron 90mm macro at 2.8, to give it a shallow depth of field for this soft abstract look.

 

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Comments
  1. Kendell says:

    I am rather mesmerized by the second shot. Thanks for sharing…..

  2. Frances Kuelz says:

    Hi Mike I love this image. I do have a question about smart photo editor where can I ask you about it? Frances

  3. I love Goatsbeard! I made a couple of beautiful images from my Goatsbeard this summer. Beautiful as usual

Leave a Reply

