Places to Shoot

Posted: September 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

I was in Minnetonka, MN presenting one of my macro workshops and after the workshop ended on Sunday, I visited a great place to shoot.  It’s the Minnesota Arboretum.  I got some really nice images and if you ever get to the area it offers a lot of opportunities for a macro photographer.

_DSC1623_pe_edited-1

____________________________________________

_DSC1590_pe_edited-1

______________________________________

_DSC1587_pe

_________________________________________DSC1593_pe_edited-1

_______________________________________DSC1598_edited-1_pe

__________________________________

_DSC1632_pe_edited-1

______________________________________

_DSC1604_edited-1_pe_pe

_________________________________________

_DSC1639_pe

______________________________________

_DSC1619_pe_edited-1

 

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Comments
  1. Kendell says:

    Some super interesting shots here Mike! 1,2,7 and 8 are my favs. Would be interested in hearing more about the post processing of 7 and 8….Thanks for sharing.

  2. Beautiful Mike! I shot in Michigan States once. I meant to go back…. it was beautiful

  3. Beautiful. I’m originally from Minnesota. Next time I go back I’ll have to make a point of going there.

  4. Elizabeth P Lawlor says:

    love your work….now here a few questions from who you might call a “pest”…..I’m looking for some new equipment…what are your most used camera body and lens…please help me! Many thanks, Liz

    • Mike Moats says:

      Any DSLR is good for macro, and the lens I use for 95% of my images is the Tamron 16-300. The other 5% I use the Tamron 90mm macro.

  5. Elizabeth P Lawlor says:

    work….you have responded to my questions but email problems make me ask you again……I’ve been using Nikon camera and lenses…what do you recommend for me to upgrade in Nikon equipment many thanks, Liz

    • Mike Moats says:

      What ever Nikon you have is fine for macro. My most successful image was shot in 2004 with a fuji S5 camera which was generations ago in the digital world, so any DSLR you have today will be fine for macro. The lens I recommend is the Tamron 16-300 and the Tamron 90mm macro.

Leave a Reply

