The Flawed Artist Statement

Posted: September 14, 2015 in Uncategorized
From 2004 to 2011 I participated in the art show circuit. It was fun while it lasted, but then I decide to move into teaching macro photography rather then selling it.
Even before I became a photographer I knew of art shows and was aware of the Ann Arbor Art Fair being considered the largest of them all. It draws a half a million people each year, and has about 1,000 artists from all over the country.
I was really excited that in my first year of doing fairs, I was accepted into this well known show.
Of the four shows that compose the Ann Arbor Fair, I was in the one called the “Original Street Art Fair”, which is the one that started the whole art show business back in 1960.
One of the rules of being in the Original Art Fair is every artist must have an artist statement hanging on a wall in their booth. I had never written an artist statement so I had a hard time thinking what to write.
I came up with the idea that I would let everyone know that I was not only the photographer, but I had a hand in the whole process of printing, mating, framing, etc.
In my statement, my reason for doing everything myself was, “if you want it done right, you have to do it yourself”.
So I had my artist statement hanging on my booth wall for all to read. By the third day of the show, I was standing up at the front of the booth where the artist statement was hanging and happen to glance at it and read it.
As I read it, I was embarrassed to find three words that were misspelled.
So much for my, “if you want it done right, you have to do it yourself” LOL

160263385.9FIugMnd._DSC7543_pe

_____________________________________________________________
Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Mentoring Course Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Comments
  1. jameswparker says:

    you misspelled “matting”, above! LOL!

  2. summitjim says:

    Mike, thanks for sharing that. I like that you are a humble guy, not pretentious like some artists. Writing and even spelling may not be your strong suit, but you are a good teacher and your photography speaks for itself. I love your work.

Leave a Reply

