This Image Needs Some Contrast

Posted: August 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

I liked the look of the leaves from a Teasel plant. The problem is the main subject is green and the background is green as well, so not enough pop in this image. It looks just okay, but I wanted a more dramatic feel.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I thought why not add some nice striking contrast in Nik Software’s Color Efex Pro 4. I used the “Solarizaton” filter which darkened the background and intensified the plant. The background didn’t totally black out, but when I went back into Photoshop Elements, I used the contrast slider which helped to finish blacking out the background.

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Website, Workshops and E-Books

Macro Courses Online Click Here

You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com

To save 15% on Topaz products click here

Comments
  1. Chayelle says:

    I would like to see this have a bit of green background. I think perhaps the black is a bit too stark or “over the top”… ?

    • Mike Moats says:

      “over the top” Some may say yes, some may say no. depends on who you ask. Do I think it’s over the top. If I did I would not have done it that way. Would it look good with with a bit of green. It might.

Leave a Reply

