Finding Character In A Black Eyed Susan Flower

Posted: August 12, 2015 in Uncategorized
This is a common Black Eyed Susan that grows in abundance in the fields of southeast Michigan where I live. There is nothing very artistic about this shot, just documenting here. 99 percent of flowers in the fields have this kind of nicely balanced arrangement of petals around the center.

As I walk the local wildflower fields of the metro parks, I slowly study every flower for any unique characteristics. Something that makes it different from the standard looking flower like the one in the above photo.
I found this Black Eyed Susan (shown below on the right) with one petal in an interesting position. This type of unusual occurrence is what I am looking for during my photography outings.
This flower had something I have never seen before; one petal was curled over the top of the flower’s center. I composed this shot with a tight frame in order to emphasize the overlapping petal. I shot this image with an aperture setting of f/16 to obtain sufficient depth of field that would ensure most of the flower would be in focus.

At the bottom of this same flower was a petal that wrapped itself around a second petal adding even more character to its appearance.Again, as with the last image, I wanted a tight shot to show off the unusual natural characteristics. This is the stuff that “makes my day” when out looking for character in nature.

 

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Comments
  1. Sharon says:

    Great shots! Thanks for the inspiration… I love your work.

  2. Elizabeth P Lawlor says:

    .thanks Mike…love your work….please keep them coming Liz

Leave a Reply

