Give Yourself Options

Posted: July 20, 2015 in Uncategorized
In my Macro Workshops I teach about “giving yourself options”.
Whenever I would find a subject to shoot, I would study it, decide which way was best to compose the subject in the frame, and than shoot it.
One day I was processing an image, and I wasn’t happy with the way I had composed the subject, and now had a different vision on how I wished I would have composed it.
The problem is it’s to late now, I couldn’t get back out there to re-shoot the subject that day, and by the time I could get back out in a few days, or a week later, the subject may have changed, or it could have been erased by the environment.
I realized that I needed to take the time to compose subjects in a variety of ways to give myself options, and I’ll decide later when processing the image, which composition worked the best.
So give yourself options, and shoot many different compositions of a subject.
Here is a good example of a subject that I couldn’t decide which way to angle and compose the dark center line of the plant, so I framed it in six different options, and I will decide later which way was best.
Want to know which one I liked best.
I still have decided, but at least I have options.

_DSC2280 600

_DSC2283 600

_DSC2281 600

_DSC2282 600

_DSC2284 600

_DSC2285 600

Website, Workshops and E-Books
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To see my processing videos click here
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
If you like this post share it below through your social media groups.
Comments
  1. Michael Di Stefano says:

    Howdy Mike I think #3 is the best because it has a nice 1/3 – 2/3 portion composition going for it. But your right, you would have never had the choice if you didn’t take all of them. Mike Di Stefano Date: Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:57:58 +0000 To: madmanmiked@hotmail.com

  2. pamela stallings says:

    Great idea, Mike. So many times I wish I had more images.

    Cheers, Pam

  3. Mark Smiatacz says:

    Don’t be silly Mike, your one of the far best ones. Fourth and last one in order the 1/3 rules. And once again thanks for showing us all pointer tips…..

  4. Dan Beaudet says:

    Great subject, Mike. I’m just learning to slow down a bit and think about what it is I want to capture – and how. I find it easy to get caught up in the shooting part while forgetting about composition. Who though taking a photo would be so tough? 😉

Leave a Reply

