Macro Photography – The Blue Collar Of Nature Photography

Posted: July 19, 2015 in Uncategorized
When we think of a job that requires hard work, stress on the body, getting dirty, we call it a Blue Collar job.
When you look at what we go through as macro photographers, it sure is the blue collar of nature photography.
Hard on the back, knees take a beating. we get dirty from head to toe, sounds like blue collar to me.
We’re a tough bunch us macro photographers, and proud of it.
__________________________________________________________________________________
Looks like this macro lady will be doing some wash when she get home.

_____________________________________________________________________________

I keep my Chiropractor in business with the stress on my back.

_________________________________________________________________________________

This shots not to tough on the body, but just got to watch out for the ticks and spiders crawling inside your pant legs.

___________________________________________________________________________________

This isn’t bad but sometimes you have to contort your body in funky positions.

_________________________________________________________________________________

I should call the guy from the “Dirty Jobs” show, and take him into the musky smelling, mosquito infested swamp for a day. 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________

I wonder if macro photographers get paid as well as the landscape photographers do? The blue collar workers usually have to work harder for less pay.
But that’s okay we do it because we love it.
It puts us in closer touch with mother earth.

________________________________________________________________________________

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Mentoring Course Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Comments
  1. Charlie Wesley says:

    Mike I would do anything to get images like yours.

  2. barbhodes says:

    Mike, Thanks for the pictures this morning. How true. They made me smile. From another blue collar worker. Barb Hodes >

  3. Henry Cohen says:

    Thanks for all your posts Mike..Love your work. Wish you would schedule a seminar in New York area..

  4. Often I have to pass up a photo op just because I can’t get in the position needed to get the shot. These old bones! I still have the rubber boots and knee pads in my car with my blanket just in the event that I’m feeling spry one day. 🙂 You rock, Mike!

    • Mike Moats says:

      Susan, I know what you mean about old bones, I don’t get done in some of the positions I use to. Thanks.

  5. George Schuetter says:

    I pay my mortgage as a blue collar tradesman. For me it is refreshing to see people who will still get their hands dirty, doing what needs to be done in the hope of attaining the perfect result.

  6. I’ve been helping my Chiropractor pay his bills! Thanks for the inspiration Mike! Your photos rock!

Leave a Reply

