Tamron 16-300 Zoom Lens with Macro

Posted: April 15, 2015 in Uncategorized
Started working with the new Tamron 16-300 zoom lens that also has macro capabilities and things look pretty good with my first attempt.  I had a chance to get out yesterday and found this little frog for my first shot with the new lens.  It was shot zoomed out at 300mm with the f/stop set at f/29.  Processed with Nik Software. I’ll post more in the future.

_DSC6966100

16300VCPZD

_______________________________________________________

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Photo Conference 2015 click here
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page
Comments
  1. Two characteristics of a true macro lens are: 1:1 reproduction (usually at MFD), and flat-field capture ( not curved-field capture). Does the Tamron 16-300 zoom lens have either or both of these characteristics?

    • Mike Moats says:

      Douglass, there are no zooms yet that have true 1:1 macro range without the aid of extension tubes or filters, but they are getting closer with each new zoom lens. This lens is a 1:2.8 I believe which will cover 90 percent of what most so called macro photographers capture. All though the majority of photographers that call what they do macro, most technically are creating close-up images. I fall under that term even though I label myself a macro photographer. If you notice there are some zoom lenses and even point and shoots that are labeled with macro capability but in reality they are not capable of true macro unless an extension tube or filter was added. I am not aware whether this lens is flat field capture or curved field capture, I guess that a something I have never had interest to learn about. All I know is it makes nice images. 🙂

  2. lfriedly78 says:

    I have used this lens for almost a year now. I was very limited on space and weight for my trip to Africa. This made for a perfect choice. I didn’t have to try to change lenses on the fly during a high action encounter. I didn’t worry as much about dust and dirt due to changing lenses, I could go from up close and personal to great shots form a safe distance. I love this lens!

    • Mike Moats says:

      Yes this is the perfect lens, as you say light weight and compact for travel and covers a very wide focal range and it does all your close-ups down to a very small area.

  3. Dan says:

    A great lens. Love it.

Leave a Reply

