So What Makes It Art

Posted: March 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

One of my blog viewers last year wrote this about what makes art to her.

I have heard so many different explanations on “what is art.” Some people say art is what provokes reaction, whether it is good or bad. Worst kind of art is what evokes no emotion. Why even exist.” I can’t say that I completely agree with that notion as there are some artists today that use “shock value” to make a name for themselves. I think that good art is something that inspires people or has a meaning to the viewer…whatever that meaning is.

I totally agree, if what we photograph doesn’t create a reaction or an emotion from the viewer it doesn’t do what the photo was intended to do. We judge what we think is art, but the fact is if a pretty picture causes people to react in a good way, than the photographer has created art in the eyes of the happy viewers.

In one post I gave examples of people buying my images based on a connection to a subject in the image. This is the emotional part we’re talking about. When these people view the photo they got a good feeling.

If you’re a photographer trying to pay the bills with your photos, then I like what a painter told me,

“Good art is in the wallet of the beholder.”

 Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.
Website, Workshops and E-Books
Macro Photo Conference 2015 click here
Macro Courses Online Click Here
You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com
To save 15% on Topaz products click here
Like my Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

