Stump Art

Posted: August 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

Daily Macro View

 

_____________________________________________________________

A few years ago I found this old downed tree trunk, and it had this hole with a very cool design in the wood around the opening. I thought it was really cool looking, but on it’s own I didn’t think it had enough going on to photograph by itself. I came up with the idea of turning the hole into a natural flower vase, and inserted these Marsh Marigolds and called it, Stump Art.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

After this shot, I was on the look out for any stumps or downed tree trunks that I ran across that had holes that I could add flowers too. Here is another cool opening I found that worked well with these nice Orange Star flowers I picked up at a flower shop.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

I used the same hole from the last photo and placed these small white flower and made it a horizontal.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

I liked this little slot in this stump, and added these little flowers. I liked the nice texture in this stump.

So keep your eyes peeled for old tree trunks with holes to create your own Stump Art.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Share through social media, click links at bottom of this article.

Website, Workshops and E-Books

Macro Courses Online Click Here

You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com

To save 15% on Topaz products click here

Comments
  1. Kendell says:

    Very cool and intriguing. I like the top photo best because of the power of 3 (yes, there are 4 flowers, but only 3 are prominent), and contrast: simplicity of flowers’ texture vs. complex texture of the wood.

  2. What a neat idea. The stump is just like having a backdrop canvas.

    • Mike Moats says:

      Exactly Sandy, it’s what I referred to as a “two subject composition” main subject and a background subject. very successful style for me.

Leave a comment