The Butterfly House, St Louis

Posted: September 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

It’s been really hot here (upper 90s) in the St Louis area, and I’m not much of a heat person, so thought I would go to The Butterfly House in Chesterfield just outside of St Louis, MO, to avoid some of the heat by staying indoors.  I’m staying in the area after my Macro Boot Camp last weekend because I will be presenting for the St Louis Camera Club tonight.

Didn’t realize how hot the temps were going to be in the Butterfly House, it was steaming hot in there so didn’t stay to long as I was drenched in sweat in no time. Shooting in butterfly houses is a challenge as the light blows out the leaves the butterflies land on, and  the clutter where they land always makes it difficult to get a clean background.  Add those factors to the fact that I have a very hard time getting sharp images when I have to hand hold the camera.  Using a tripod when shooting these little guys is tough as they don’t always stay long enough in one place to set up the tripod.  Lucky I had my 18-270 with VR which helped to get sharper image hand holding.

_DSC2865600

____________________________________________________________________

_DSC2819 600

___________________________________________________________________________

_DSC2851600

__________________________________________________________________

I got one flower shot.

_DSC2841600

Website, Workshops and E-Books

You can buy my images from a select group at GreatBigCanvas.com

To see my processing videos click here

To save 15% on Topaz products click here

If you like this post share it below through your social media groups.

Comments
  1. Carolyn Leyboldt says:

    Very nice! I went to one butterfly house in my area and it certainly was a challenge. They don’t allow tripods but they do allow children. I did better at home, catching a butterfly, putting it in the fridge for a little while and then placing it in my flowers. It’s slow while it warms up so is easier to take. Doesn’t hurt the butterfly either:)

  2. Mike Hourigan says:

    How did you keep your lens from fogging up?

    • Mike Moats says:

      Mike, the lens will fog for the first 10-15 minutes in the BH but after that you will be fine. Just keep cleaning off the fog with a lens cloth, and eventually it will stay clear.

  3. Pat says:

    Beautiful captures.

  4. Bob Murray says:

    Lovely Photos. The long lens allows you to keep a distance from the insects and also throws the background out of focus. I am not in favour of putting insects in the fridge!

  5. MelodyMW says:

    I had a similar experience in a butterfly house on Mackinaw Island, very humid, but oh so magical. The guide said he lets photographers in early before they open the doors to the public if he knows you would like to shoot, and it is a bit cooler and the butterflies are a bit slower at that time. Wish I would have known that earlier, it was my last afternoon on the island. Maybe next time, I did get some photos of the tropical flowers though.

Leave a Reply

